Plywood Bike 2.0

by woodyoushouldyou

This bike is my largest frivolous project. It took me around 90 hours to complete, half of which were in the design process. I had some much appreciated assistance throughout the course of this project.   I need to thank John Bolen for helping me turn parts for the Lignum Vitae bearings and for the use of his shop and lathe. A thank you is due to Shane Matthews for assisting with milling a few parts and for offering great guidance with CAD programs.  Many thanks to John Baxley for his guidance and expertise in regards to the gears.  And finally, thank you to Walter King; without whom the project would not have been realized; his CNC router was perhaps the most necessary machine to make everything mesh with perfect accuracy.

 

CNC begins

CNC begins

CNC

CNC

All the parts are cut

All the parts are cut

*/

I mounted the hubs to support the bearings and attached a soft pine wear surface to the wheels.

I mounted the hubs to support the bearings and attached a soft pine wear surface to the wheels.

The crank gears

The crank gears

I turned the crank shaft out of oak.  I used a simple jig in combination with my table saw sled to square off two sides of the shafts end so the peddles can apply torque.

I turned the crank shaft out of oak. I used a simple jig in combination with my table saw sled to square off two sides of the shafts end so the pedals can apply torque.

Here is the crank shaft with one of the Lignum Vitae bearings and the two peddles attached. you can also see the hole for the 3/8" Oak shear pin that proved to be too small. I'm now using 5/8"

Here is the crank shaft with one of the Lignum Vitae bearings and the two pedals attached. you can also see the hole for the 3/8″ Oak shear pin that proved to be too small. I’m now using 5/8″

I drilled holes in my fork hinges to reduce weight

I drilled holes in my fork hinges to reduce weight

Getting the frame aligned

Getting the frame aligned

Mostly assembled! The wheel like thing on the ground next to the bike is the equivalent to the chain.

Mostly assembled! The wheel like thing on the ground next to the bike is the equivalent to the chain.

 

DSC_0790 DSC_0793 DSC_0800

