Segmented Bowl

by woodyoushouldyou

I turned this bowl as a present for my mom, but in truth it was really just an opportunity for me to try out a new technique. I spent about an hour wandering around my shop with my calculator trying to decide on how many layers to use, how many pie pieces there should be in each layer, and how big the pieces should be.

I finally decided on ten pieces for each layer. From top to bottom they consist of:

Five pieces of teak, each 30 degrees and five pieces of oak, each 6 degrees.

Five pieces of oak, 18 degrees. Five pieces of ziricote, 18 degrees.

Same as top layer.

Five pieces of oak, each 30 degrees and five pieces of teak, each 6 degrees.

I used the miter saw to cut these pieces and the pies fit together to within about one degree.  I glued each layer together separately, sanded them flat and then glued them all together.  I glued it to the faceplate of my homemade lathe with a sheet of paper in between so it would come off easily with a chisel.

The bowl mounted on my  homemade lathe

The bowl mounted on my homemade lathe

The bowl, just oiled. You can see my jank tool rest, the stack of plywood behind the bowl.

The bowl, just oiled. You can see my jank tool rest, the stack of plywood behind the bowl.

Aviary Photo_130566807808235608

The actual turning is nothing special; the wall is about 3/4 inch thick.  I finished it with mineral oil and Mom loves the bowl.

