Washington crossing the Delaware

by woodyoushouldyou

The 2011 float depicted the scene of George Washington and the American army crossing the Delaware.

As with all my floats, this one is not very noteworthy from a woodworking standpoint but they are my most publicly displayed projects besides the bike.

I learned some trigonometry in the 2010-2011 school year and put it to good use doing dozens of (unnecessary) calculations because I decided that the 2×4 ribs “needed” to lean out at all different angles.

Washington's horse

Washington’s horse

To create the curved back I cut through three of the four plies at 1 1/2″ intervals, with the table saw, and bent it over plywood semicircles at both ends.

my sister and cousin covering the chicken wire with paper mache

my sister and cousin covering the chicken wire with paper mache

you can see all the oddly angled 2x4 ribs

you can see all the oddly angled 2×4 ribs

spring 2011 106

my dad and uncle attaching the water

cutting out the oars

cutting out the oars

the oars

the oars

ready to row towards Trenton

ready to row towards Trenton

spring 2011 182

huzzah

We didn’t have any Revolutionary war soldiers on the float, save George Washington himself, but we did have two World War II vets.

spring 2011 169

George and his army

