The USS Constitution

by woodyoushouldyou

In 2010 I built a model of the USS Constitution for the Independence Day parade.

The Constitution was quite a bit more difficult than the straight sided, mono colored Goethals (which I had built in 2008).

To produce the curvy profile of the hull, I sketched the rib shape onto cardboard to create a template which I used cut some 15 ribs out of 3/8″ plywood.

A big thanks is due to Arbor Guard for lending the trailer for all three floats.

fourth of july tax 10 013

attaching cardboard on the bow

here's a good look at the plywood ribs

here’s a good look at the plywood ribs

neighborhood kids helping me attach cardboard sides

neighborhood kids helping me attach cardboard sides

my cousin, uncle and me completing the final preparations on the morning of the fourth

my cousin and uncle completing the final preparations on the morning of the fourth

one last look over

one last look over

lining up for the parade with a full crew

lining up for the parade with a full crew

The USS Constitution

The USS Constitution

